Growing Pains

Time has flown. Already my new granddaughter has passed many milestones. If I could, I would build a giant “Walton” like home where all my kids and grandkids could live so I wouldn’t have to miss any of the coming achievements for any of them.

Oh wait. Back up there. Think this one through. My three kids in one house for more than a few days? My three distinctly different personalities? Being a “traveling grandma” is probably the wisest course for family harmony.

I shall miss walking in the Virginia woods. I shall miss listening to Squeaky. I shall miss “puzzling” with my son. (Jigsaws and future plans). I shall miss watching my daughter-in-law loving on her precious baby. I shall cry. Can’t help it. I shall also miss the 70 degree days of late, compared to the 30s with snow at home.

Company is coming very soon after I get home. Holiday happenings abound, and one of my favorites is going downtown to see the lights. Here in Virginia, we got to see a fabulous display nearby to the kids. What a lot of work and dedication one family put into their property, and then their generosity in opening it up to the public. We walked through their yard and enjoyed the creative displays in a background of holiday music piped over the entire wonderland – front and back. To top it off, the warm December night was perfect for being outside.

Coming up is the end of the year bookkeeping and tax preparation. Whoa – change in thoughts there! So Yes – winter has descended, the time for renewal. Plants work beneath the soil, feeding off the stored energy in their roots. I snuggle into the house, making plans for the yard, plans for travel, plans for a cabin near our pond. Time will tell what comes to fruition. In the meantime, more birthdays are coming. My family is growing, and growing older, as am I.

and so time goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in home, Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

