Plans and More Plans

Plans, plans, plans. I wonder if anyone has ever kept track of how many plans they have made in their lifetime. I am one who has to brainstorm out loud. It seems to be the only way my brain processes well. For me, saying it allows me to sort and throw the poorer possibilities in the trash, per say, but saying things out loud can drive others nuts.

Plans mean we are moving forward. They mean I have something to look forward to, and that is all it takes to fire my engines. Not that having four grandchildren isn’t a huge reason for looking forward, but knowing they will eventually be close together sparks such enthusiasm in my heart.

Other plans include lots of snow-shoeing this winter. Hopefully, all these steps and stairs will pay off when I get to the mountains. There is also the trip to Florida coming up. The exercise there will be chasing after a two and six year old! How in the world did they get that old already?

My son took me up for an incredible flight over the area where he lives. It is so gosh darn pretty, even in winter when you are soaring above the earth. I love seeing the farms and all the water, lakes, creeks, rivers and swamps. I even got to take the controls for a bit – of course, flying isn’t hard, it’s the landings and the radio lingo that are tough to grasp. I really loved looking at the landscape, and that moment when he banked the plane kind of hard, like a little mini-fun ride. I must add that his landing was far smoother than many a landing I’ve had in commercial planes.

I also got in a great hike, so I’m not totally missing out on my challenge of 12 flights and 12,000 steps per day while I’m here. They have a two-story, so the flights are easy. It’s getting in the steps that is a challenge. I’m working on it.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

