Rites of Passage

The feeling of a newborn baby in your arms is like no other. It stirs lifelong emotions, changes to a person that never go away. I guess that’s why humankind has survived so long, because our instinct to protect this tiny, precious, defenseless part of ourselves is so incredibly strong. As strong as it is for parents, it is almost stronger for me as a grandparent. Possibly, I suppose, because I am nearer to the end than the beginning, and having gone through such grief I know how incredibly precious this new little member of our family is. The time I am able to spend with my grandchildren is the one gift from me (and to me), that can never be taken away,

The weather is rainy grey, and cold enough to be dreary. I plan to make our favorite family recipe of cookies and some soup, the best cure for dreariness. The new granddaughter is almost the only thing on my mind, and I have her in my arms when ever possible, so new and different subjects worthy of writing about are slow to jump out.

How in the world did we end up in the last month of the year?

Ah, today the sun is shining. The wind is also blowing, but since I’m not trying to do anything outside, I’ll happily take the former and forget the latter. The baby has settled into the usual newborn routine – up all night and a sleepy angel during the day. I remember that part well. I suppose all parents do. It seems to be a right of passage. The up all night part comes back again when they are teenagers old enough to drive. I remember that part well too.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration, parenting, Traveling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

