A Can of Worms

Thanksgiving is coming! It is my favorite holiday because it is all about those favorite flavors from my childhood – talk about a day devoted to comfort food. My mother was a superb gravy maker. My tradition was leaving the peas in the microwave. I eventually learned to look for colors. If green was missing, we knew where to find them.

The lights outside got redone for the third time. Don’t even ask.

As part of my incentive to get on and stay on the treadmill, I’ve been watching old movies that I’ve never seen before. I just cried through the sappy ending of a Carey Grant classic, “An Affair to Remember.” Easy to see why his fans swooned over him.  I think I might have to switch to a different kind of movie.

The grand baby’s due date has arrive, just not the baby. None of my kids were on time, so that isn’t surprising. I’m not anxious or anything, you know, just hanging out and waiting patiently. Un-huh.

Actually, I’ve been spending some of my time lately researching water law in Colorado, subjects like surface tributary rights vs. ground tributary rights. That sounds interesting doesn’t it? It never ceases to amaze me how the right, honorable, and fair way of doing things gets trumped by money, expediency, or political persuasion. Then comes the day when it’s been done a certain way so long, and so much depends on it now being done that particular way, that the original way is no longer the best option. It is a complicated subject because it doesn’t make what happened right, however, undoing what was done is devastating. Those unforeseen consequences! I bet you’re all wondering what I’m talking about. It’s a piece of legislation in Colorado called SB 10-52, otherwise known as a can of worms.

and so it goes…

 

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

