Oh Paris!

My prayers go out to the people of Paris. I know how affected I feel, sitting here thousands of miles away. This is a great example of why our politicians who are slinging mud at each other should SHUT UP. We do have something to fear and to fight, and it isn’t Democrats vs. Republicans. Those titles were meant to give us a system for choosing our leader; they were never meant as a divisive hate mechanism.

I hung some holiday lights outside while it was still warm, and it looks awful. I’m going to try again. It doesn’t have to look professional, just not awful. Festive would be nice. The snow was a pretty sight to wake up to, nice moisture too. It brought down a lot more of the straggling leaves, but my Aspen trees have yet to shed theirs. I’m not sure what they are hanging on for, but I kind of like that they are.

Mysterious packages have been showing up at my house. I am putting them in the spare bedroom. When the kids get here for Christmas, we will have to have a giant wrapping party. We’ll send the grandkids to the basement for a movie fest. The “older” boys can play ping-pong, because I’ve seen their wrapping jobs. (just kidding) That reminds me to check my supply of wrapping paper and tape.

Is anyone else excited about the coming Star Wars movie? I am! I hope it is as good as I want it to be.

Winter is definitely here. The grand baby isn’t here yet, but the due date is only days away. While I wait for the baby (and spring) I have turned to making soups again. Oh, how I love a good soup. Pumpkin makes a great base, and I happen to have plenty. You can add anything you want for herbs and flavoring, the pumpkin’s taste is neutral. It just adds nutrition and fiber. I made a great one the other day with pureed pumpkin and carrots, chicken, oregano, and a couple of tomatoes pureed (you don’t taste the tomato but it takes the carroty taste out of the pureed carrots).

Here’s hoping the next blog has some great news.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in fear, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

