Thank You Veterans!

To all our service men and women around the world, past and present, THANK YOU for your service, your dedication, and your honor.

On my mission to make my home efficient, I sealed the air-flow between the garage and the house. On a side note, it isn’t wise to cut off all access to fresh air, but the garage air tends to be of poor quality because of vehicle fumes and the chemicals, paint, etc. stored in a typical garage. That’s not what you want for fresh air.

Sealing it means using cans of expandable foam, (there are two different types – so be sure to get the kind that expands a little, not a lot). The goal is to seal off the gap between the dry-wall and the cement foundation. If the space is very small, you can use caulking instead, but often the gap is pretty wide and the foam will fill it better.

In my garage, to accomplish this meant moving a lot of things away from the walls, including a large and heavy upright tool box full of drills, saws, chemicals, socket sets, etc. Yes, my back is aching, but the job got done. Then I got inspired and painted the guest bathroom. There are a lot of reasons not to have ten foot tall walls in a house – and painting is one of them. The trim above the tub was a royal pain, to say the least. I am going to buy one of those telescoping fiberglass ladders that are easy to carry around. I only have a heavy eight foot A-frame that is awkward at best – and doesn’t fit over toilets or in bathtubs. (I hope the grand baby comes soon or I’ll start in on the basement.)

We got our first glimpse of snow in the freezing spat of weather that just passed through here. I pulled the tomato plants out of the towers, cut the last rose buds, and covered the outdoor furniture. I guess that’s it for yardening this year. Next project – holiday lighting. I have been going back and forth about doing it or not since I’ll be gone so much, and finally came up with a good compromise plan. My house won’t be ‘the’ house to see, but I’m hoping it will have a festive greeting for my grandsons when they get here.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

