Healing and Hiking

My granddaughter and I drove up the Poudre River canyon and found another beautiful spot to hike. She absolutely loved crossing the ‘obstacle courses,’ the stream we were following. We crossed it about eight or nine times coming and going, once with a plank bridge, several times by rocks, and a couple times by log. Water shoes were more appropriate than hiking boots. She came alive with the challenge and was sad when we crossed for the last time. The weather was perfect, cool and sunny, with no wind. I couldn’t have asked for a better day to hike. Seeing her love for nature develop when we go out like that is a wonderful plus.

I am close to finishing the baby’s album. Thank goodness. I kind of stumbled upon a theme (using the parent’s favorite books from their childhood) that helped me get started. There are a few more things to pick up, but I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. Funny how frustration from that stumbling block was affecting my ability to work on my novels. Maybe now the creativity will flow! (One can only hope.) One good indicator is my figuring out how to change some furniture around in a room I have been unhappy with.

Four years have gone by since Dean passed away. Thoughts of what he is missing as I watch the kids and grandkids bring tears to my eyes, still. I suppose it always will. I cry easily anyway, but honestly, these grandkids are the best invention ever! Who would have thought? Their laughter is such an elixir, I can only think that wars are started by people who do not have grandchildren. Maybe we should start a movement that only grandparents can rule countries and by law they have to listen to their grandchildren giggle and laugh before every cabinet meeting. Just a thought.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

