The Leaf Pile

Don’t you just love waiting around for delivery and service people? Arghh! Then when they put a big crease in your brand new appliance… Fortunately, I am in a good space. I am laughing at everything lately. Permits took over two weeks to get to my house from Windsor via USPS. Rebate info sent back to Windsor was lost for over 10 days.

A person might as well laugh, because stressing does absolutely no good, and as my daughter reminded me – these are 1st world problems. I have food and shelter, and I am healthy. I really have nothing to complain about. Everything is being fixed and the problems eventually solved. There is always another way to skin a cat, as the saying goes. (Just don’t say that in front of my six year old granddaughter.)

I think my good space has something to do with how soon I will get introduced to my newest grand baby. I am trying to get the house ready for me to be gone for much of the winter. There is lots of winterizing left to be done. Next week I will get estimates on adding insulation in the attic to bring it up to snuff. I have been moving in the outdoor furniture, or covering it, as the case may be.

My granddaughter and I raked up leaves into a great big pile, which she and her friends promptly jumped into and scattered, again and again. Those leaves gave the kids so much joy,
we didn’t even mind turning her jeans inside out to get rid of all of the bits of leaf. I will re-rake and bag them later, and I won’t even mind doing it again, not after the pleasure and laughter the first time around gave me. What a beautiful autumn Colorado has enjoyed this year.

and so the leaves go…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

