Blood Moon Rising

During a discussion about bicyclists working hard to get up a long mountain top road, my friend, a wise and funny woman, asked me if I had honestly ever enjoyed doing anything while wearing spandex. I had a good long laugh. Truth be told, I do enjoy riding my bike and I enjoy it more when I wear my padded spandex shorts. Other than that, spandex is great for holding all the loose parts in tight. If I didn’t have loose parts, it might not be a subject for debate.

Autumn is coming, and it is not taking its time in getting here. I watched the blood moon for a while the other night. The strange beauty of such phenomena captivates me. How does our universe work?

The days are getting shorter and shorter. The leaves are turning brilliant colors and the temperatures are cooler, both of which I love. The trick now is to not look past the crisp air and changing leaves and fret instead about what comes next. Enjoy this lovely season, soak in each day, take a walk, even if it has to be a short one to the mailbox.

Gardening for the year is coming to an end. I know I have made good progress in this new place, and that is satisfying. I haven’t figured out all of the solutions to the idiosyncrasies of this new house, but I am working on them. Each little step makes the house more and more mine. Funny why that is important. It’s probably just me, but it seems there is a correlation between the house feeling like mine, and my being happy. I never noticed that when I was younger with a house full of children, customers, and often the employees of our business.  I don’t think I had time to notice. Since it’s just me and the house now, I guess we need to get along, or one of us is going…

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in gardening, home, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

