Wake Up!

Since the road trip is over, waking up is weird. I find myself disoriented, not sure where I am, whose house, or what hotel I’m in. My dreams are a little kooky too. They remind me of those dreams in high school when I couldn’t remember my locker number and I hadn’t done the math homework. In last night’s dream, I couldn’t remember a password. I knew it was a dream and I told myself to move on, it didn’t matter, but still, not the kind of peaceful sleep a person wakes from feeling refreshed.

I got back in the car (I know, I know), and drove to Grand Junction to visit Mom. After cleaning the gutters and trimming the pyracantha bush, I took an afternoon off and went up to Colorado National Monument. What a spectacular place to visit. As many times as I have been up and across it over the decades, I found a new trail to walk this time and got some really nice photos. Cyclists are preparing for “Tour the Moon” on October 3rd (a ride across the Monument) and they never cease to amaze me. They must be fearless. The up part would be impossible for me, and the down would be frightening (they better have good brakes). Preparation includes hiking and driving it in advance so that no one goes over the edge from looking at the beautiful landscape rather than watching where they are going.

My mom continues to hang in there. That is amazing too. The color is on in the high country. I always find it a joy to drive across the Continental Divide when the Quakies (Aspen trees) are brilliant yellow and the oak brush is burnt orange. This year, the burning bushes I planted in my yard should turn a brilliant red, and I look forward to that (I just try not to think about the snow that will follow). I’ve found myself subtly preparing for fall in the yard, taking in the hummingbird feeder, the umbrella shade, and some of my granddaughter’s yard critters. Another season. Wow.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

