Coming To An End

For anyone who didn’t catch the clues about my pet ‘Blackie’ – I was referring to my suitcase.

About half way into a fourteen mile bike ride, I remembered one item I forgot to bring on this trip, my padded cycling shorts. Why do I always forget to put those in? You’d think one of those lessons would be enough, but no, I forget them again and again. I’m going to start storing them in my helmet.IMG_2067

The trail I rode is marvelous now, shady and cool, but I can only imagine how incredible it will be in a couple of weeks when the over-head canopy of leaves turns crimson and yellow. Called the Dakota Rail Regional Trail, it follows the old rail line that ushered thousands of bushels of wheat from the farms out west into the mills in Minneapolis. The trail borders Lake Minnetonka for thirteen miles of its shoreline, and there is a coffee shop, a bistro, a creamery, and an old fashioned malt shop along the way in case you get hungry and need to stop for refreshment.

My time in Minnesota has coming to a close. All of my major goals have been accomplished. My writing spirit is renewed and refreshed. I have visited my cousins and have pictures to take home and show my mother. I’ve seen enough lakes and gotten enough boating in to last me till next year at least. Connecting once again with my cousins has been priceless. I want to take them home with me. This family connection thing has become so important to me of late. Maybe that comes to a person when they are on the second half of their life journey. I’m not sure, but the perspective is different now than it was when I was young.

Tonight we will cook out on the fire pit and I will get to meet my cousin’s grandchildren. That reminds me of how much I miss my grandchildren. It must be time to head home.

and so I go…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

