My Comfy Brown Chair

This is the last blog written in my comfy brown chair, while sipping coffee – until my return. The other day, I went up the Poudre Canyon with a friend. We saw a lot of great fishing holes, and had a delightful lunch overlooking the river. Driving home a different way, I have now learned a lot more about the country around here, always a good thing – especially when company comes to visit.

Each time I drive down Drake Road and see the old barn and house where Dean lived during his college days, I am saddened to think how much he would hate seeing the corrals replaced with huge new houses. The developer plans to restore the barn and keep it being used as a barn, or at least that is what ‘they’ said, but it isn’t the same, not by a long shot. Times change, I know that, but I can’t help the feelings.

I haven’t even gotten out the door for this year’s national park trip and I am already planning next year’s. You can’t help but get into it, once you go to your first great park, and you realize what a treasure they are. I am hooked, absolutely hooked. If i’m crazy enough to contemplate making a quilt of my favorite parks, you know I have a mild addiction. I also collect the national parks quarters, hiking medallions, and a fair share of books. What can I say?

I finished another sewing project today, so I go off with nothing left undone, well, except for the album for the new baby, but that one I didn’t plan on doing until fall anyway. The lawn is mowed, and my neighbor is in charge of keeping the potted plants watered. All should be fine. We are so close to fall, if something dies now, it is no great loss. The tomatoes and squash can be shared by the neighborhood, and the pumpkins will wait for my return.

and so I go…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in gardening, Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

