Gone Forever

There are some things in life – that once gone, are gone forever. Take a moment and imagine which ones I’m thinking of. They matter.

Time is one. You can’t get it back. You also can’t get back any of those moments watching your kids grow up and master walking, a math problem, hopscotch, or riding a bike. As CJ Craig would say, “Suck every morsel off the bone,” with the time you have left.

Now think about money. You can always earn more, declare bankruptcy, start over, get a better paying job, work longer hours. You can accumulate all of it you want, but no one is going to bury you with it. Burning it in a fire-pit will get you as much comfort as you are going to get from it when you are sick, or lonesome.

I personally love the analogy of life being like a book. That could have something to do with my being a writer, but it does fit in some circumstances, such as moving on to the next chapter when change happens – which it always does. However, there is one rub. You can re-read an actual book; you don’t get to re-read life. You can look back at pictures and enjoy your memories, but you don’t get to go back and do it over. If only.

I am preparing for my big adventure coming soon, another chapter for me. I am in hopes that lots of preparation means I will be well prepared. Haha. Somehow, with me, I’m pretty sure that won’t compute – but what the heck. I’m giving it my best. There are a lot of decisions over what to take, what not to take. What I will regret not having, what really won’t matter. The camera is charged. I found the tripod. I got new sunglasses and a good spare. Hats, First-aid kit, sunscreen, bug repellent, sleeping bag, what else does a person need for an adventure? oh, a map maybe.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

