Taking It Easy

Squirrels are clicking outside. I wonder what they do when it gets so hot the sweat just pours off when I go outside. It’s cooler in the shade of the trees where their nests are, but do they just sprawl out like I would be doing, or are they still active with little internal fans keeping them cool? I know I might be able to google this info, but I’ve had to do way too much of that lately.

I took my granddaughter to school orientation, one chaotic mess if you ask me. We now know where her classroom, desk, and line-up spot are. The rest will take care of itself. We’ve gotten into such a good routine, I hate thinking about the quiet house next week when she starts school.

My thoughts and prayers go out to the families of the fallen fire fighters, and the young man fighting for his life, who were on the front lines in Twisp, WA. It is hard to imagine all the devastation those fires have caused. There are so many of them burning right now. In an unprecedented move, they are asking for volunteers to fight the fires. If I were younger, I would go.

I was supposed to be planting bulbs, but they didn’t come in so I put up a new mini-blind in the patio room instead. I’m almost done with my latest sewing project. My mother said I shouldn’t start anything else for a while, take it easy. I laughed. After all these years, she should know that I am a project person. I always have projects going and I always have to be busy or I don’t feel right. Taking it easy lasts for about an hour at the most. That’s just me. I did think about it though, wondering where I get that from. Probably Dean. Thirty years of living with someone who forever had too much to do gets into your blood, I guess, although I never saw any moss growing under my dad’s feet either.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in gardening, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

