Camping and Quilting

Camping is the sort of thing you make lists for; then you revise them; then you go camping and start all over with a new list because there is a lot you didn’t get right on the first one!

All in all, I didn’t do too badly with my list. In fact, I did rather well with some aspects. I did the worst with fishing. I forgot to dig worms so I had to buy some, only to find out the fish were not biting worms. I re-rigged and lost my first lure to a poor knot and a good sized fish. Being in a hurry doesn’t pay when it comes to fishing. My second lure went down to a snag on the bottom. Tangled line didn’t help either. I forgot to wear my dad’s fishing hat, and that put an end to my fishing. The hiking was awesome, except where I got sunburned. I forever miss some place with the sunscreen.

In the middle of the night there was a terrific wind and rain storm that put my tent staking ability to the test. That one I passed. My new sleeping bag and mat passed the test also. I absolutely loved the location where I was camping, but I will say, shower facilities when you tent camp are a truly nice option – and we did not have them. I will check that out more closely next time because I love my morning shower. The coffee was great though, as was watching the sunrise. Cormorants, ducks, ravens and all manner of hummingbirds shared inIMG_1960 IMG_1986 my love of morning on the lake.

The quilt is done. I also made two pillows, two blankets, and one stuffed owl. He is the cutest thing in person, more so than in the pic, but I did my best.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in climb a mountain, Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

