Time to Un-Plug

Oh good grief, it’s time to write another blog. Don’t take that statement wrong. I’m not saying I don’t want to write one, I just can’t believe how fast the weeks go by. It can’t possibly be time, and yet the calendar says it is so.

I’m going camping soon, and I was making a list of necessary items, and then I went on to list unnecessary items (like my Kindle so I can read a book if I get bored). I’m really having to think hard on that one, because I love the outdoors, and if I get bored, something is seriously wrong. This should be a time to un-plug, give my eyes a rest from the screen world, and not feel guilty from a little boredom. Some of my best schemes, I mean plans, have been hatched during such moments. Okay, Kindle stays home.

I am on the last step of the quilt, hand-stitching the back-side of the binding. It has truly been a labor of love, but the great part was all I learned in the process. I am thinking about making one of the National Parks I have visited, well, my favorite parks because there are too many to put on one quilt, and I’m not that crazy!

One side of the country is burning up and the other side is floating away in floods. At least in the case of flooding, nature is the cause. The fact that there is an arsonist setting fires in California (14 in two weeks that they know of) makes my stomach turn over. How does a person get that sick?

Maybe I should quit watching the news. I saw the Deputy Sheriff who handcuffed third graders with ADHD. My jaw was on the floor. What would Super Nanny say to that? I happen to be one who thinks there are times when it is acceptable for PARENTS to paddle their own children. This was not only NOT the parents doing the discipline, but tell me please, doesn’t the Sheriff’s office have actual criminals to spend their time catching? Wow!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

