Inspiration

Ideas have been flowing. Combining a way of life you love with a way to make a living is not the easiest thing to do in the world, but who doesn’t love a challenge? Speaking of challenges, I am starting another new flower bed project. Crazy – I know, but color is my thing and gravel doesn’t cut the mustard.

A few nights ago, I lay in bed trying to figure out how to get the protagonist of my fantasy into – and back out of – the bad guys grip. Instant sleep! Why is it that when you want to go to sleep – it doesn’t happen – and when you want to stay awake and figure something out – poof, gone, nada, good morning.

Some fantasy aficionados have been advising, brain storming, and encouraging me with this new novel. How fun it is to sit with young people and listen anytime, anyway, but when you’re getting lots of good ideas at the same time – Bonus! I have never been a fantasy reader, and this novel I’m writing now is nearly, just barely, not quite but almost, sort of – fantasy, so I have a lot to learn, believe you me, a lot to learn.

On the subject of a lot to learn, the quilt is taxing my imagination at the moment. I am trying to work out an easier method of measuring and putting the panels together – uniformly -so I don’t have to rip anymore out. That’s not as easy as I first thought it would be. I will get it, I just may have to buy a wig by the end of it. Speaking of which, the kids decided on an 80’s theme for Halloween, so I need to find some big glasses and big hair anyway! Whose got leg warmers and neon in their closet?

I got inspired by a quilt I saw at my favorite local quilt shop. My next project, after I get the current one finished, and the new couch pillows made, is to do a quilt with scenes from the national parks I have visited. For instance, I kayaked right over the top of a manatee in Biscayne Bay, so I’ll put a manatee on it, and the Teton Range, and Old Faithful, the Hoodoos, etc. Should be fun. I really won’t have any hair left then.

And so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in gardening, Inspiration, Traveling, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiration

  1. lilypup says:

    I think the quilt of the national parks will be fantastic!

Leave a Reply

