The Prairie in Bloom

It seems I’m going to survive my summer saga of sewing. I finally found some material that I believe will do for making couch pillows. I found the pattern months ago, but other projects have taken precedence. Progress has been made on the quilt. My granddaughter has grown (go figure), so I’m going to turn a favorite pair of her pants into shorts. My favorite shorts as a young girl were the ones I cut off but didn’t hem so they would unravel and fray. I thought they were so cool! Didn’t take much back then, did it?

Ah, the coffee maker just went off. That wonderful aroma is wafting around the room, drawing me toward the kitchen. If it weren’t for coffee and hot morning showers, there wouldn’t be much incentive to get up and function. I used to simply pop out of bed and be ready to go. Not anymore. I need to be more like the squirrels and bunnies who inhabit my yard. The squirrels run the back yard fence similar to the joggers out on the streets, and the bunnies have a regular route also. They always stop to look in the picture window when they cross the patio each morning.

Speaking of popping up, my lawn is full of mushrooms. They are such a sweet mystery. How many years can their spores lie low, then suddenly enough moisture falls and up they come! I had some stunningly huge mushrooms come up in the Black Forest several years ago. There has been so much rain there lately, I bet some of those show up again this year.

A friend recently posted pictures of wild flowers out on the prairie. A stunning sea of yellow framed by green grass where often, by this time of the year, the grass is turning brown and what few flowers bloomed have long since withered away. Nature has a wonderful way of renewing my emotional vitality right along with the planet’s.

And so it grows…Praire Cone Flowers

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in gardening, Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

