Fingers Crossed

The ‘fingers crossed’ method did not work. I have to rip out some of my recent progress on the quilt. I thought for a day about letting it go. It was still going to be darling, but it was bothering me so I took it over to my neighbor. She looked at it, and she looked at me. “How many times do you rewrite your books?”

Ah… “Perspective!” So instead of thinking of it as ripping out the seams between the panels, I am ‘editing’ the quilt, so to speak. When I’m writing – that is the fun part, when I’m sewing – not so much. The first draft of a book is just plain hard work, but the editing, finding stronger words, better suited words, that part I love!

So, here I go. Thankfully, my mother bought me a tiny, sharp scissors decades ago for just such an occasion. It is going to come in handy now. How did she know?

This past weekend, I took my granddaughter fishing. Her first cast caught a giant cottonwood tree, pretty normal first try, however, she had no trouble setting the hook and reeling in the fish. It sure brought on memories of my dad taking me. After she caught three and the initial thrill wore off, we were ready for breakfast. Then the best part was, the ponds we were fishing – are ten minutes from the house. We were home in a jiffy where breakfast was waiting. Can’t beat that.

We recently have been getting a welcome break from the heat, plus some rain. It ruined a tennis game, but not watering the lawn because it doesn’t need it is much preferred to not watering because you are on water restrictions.

And so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

