Summer

Sometimes the simplest of days are the best. A friend recently visited, and all we did was eat and visit. It was the best day. No events, no drives through beautiful scenery, just catching up with each other’s lives, hearing what was really being said, adding some perspective, hugging and laughing and loving each other.

Update on Quilt: it’s actually going really well. My fingers might be crossed behind my back as I write this, but I think it looks good. I’ve only had to rip out and re-do one tiny piece so far.

Update on Novel: The fantasy is going great. I got through my first battle scene, it isn’t epic – nothing is on the first draft – but I am weaving in the intricacies that tie everything together and that is so much fun!

It is hard to believe we are half-way through the summer. One more blink and my daughter will be telling me it’s time for her to go back to school and prep for the coming year. Yikes! I so love the sleep-overs with my granddaughter and watching her learn to ride her bike.

The leaves on her pumpkin plants are simply huge. I have never seen such crazy big leaves. It’s kind of scary. I wonder how big the pumpkins will be. The plants send out those crazy tendrils that choke off all the competition. They have wiped out most of the sweet corn (what didn’t get eaten by the bunnies) and are going for the tomato plants at the other end of the garden now. Voracious plants! Every couple of days I go out there and try to tame them, un-choke whatever they have gotten to, but I am losing the battle. They remind me of those awful movies I went to as a kid at the Drive-In theatre.

And so the summer goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in gardening, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

