Happy Father’s Day!

I hope every father out there realizes how important he is to his children. You model our future generations. Your work ethic, your treatment and tolerance of others – all others, the love and respect you show your spouse in word and deed, all these things affect our future. You are important and needed.

I got lucky, really, really lucky. I know my son will be a great dad, and I have the two most awesome son-in-laws I could ever have imagined. What a blessing it is to have grandchildren who are growing up in loving families.

When I got a whole lot of yard work done the other day, I realized with a pang that it was because there were no grandkids helping me. I could go from one chore to the next without checking on them, supervising them, letting them do the task for me while I watched and sometimes cringed. I like getting a lot done, and yet, not getting so much done was an awful lot of fun.

I went for a short bike ride, the first one in a while. It felt good to get on and go.
I also got back in the gym – and I wanted to die. A mere six weeks ago, my routine was not a killer. Why one’s fitness deserts a person so quickly when it took so long to build it in the first place is beyond me. Seems like it should take as long to go as it took to come. Just saying.

All of the moisture Colorado has gotten meant the yard and rock garden in the Black Forest went berserk with growth. I drove down and spent part of the day pulling and whacking weeds, cutting down broken limbs, and fixing things that needed fixed. Long distance maintenance is not my favorite thing, that’s for sure. The good part of coming here is getting in visits with the friends I don’t get to see often. That part I love.

And so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

