Walk and Watch

With plenty of time on my hands, I began people watching in the airport. I had an extra hour lay-over, which I didn’t mind. Plenty of time allows me to eat lunch peacefully, far preferred to eating on the run. Actually, for an unknown reason, I ‘walk’ watched this trip. I made a point to look at the way people were walking, and let me tell you, there are as many strides and ways to step as there are faces. I hadn’t noticed before.

Some people walk so purposefully, some are extremely timid. Some stutter step as they try to figure out where they are to go next. Some strides are long in the airport, many more are short. It is fascinating, or I was easily fascinated that day. After a few moments of watching the strides, I started noticing the footwear. That, I realized, is a whole other can of beans, another subject for another blog.

You can ‘walk’ watch without looking at faces and engaging people if that is an issue. I found myself looking at the faces though, to match the different strides I saw with the corresponding faces. It didn’t compute, at first, and then it clicked in.

I walked the B concourse of Atlanta’s airport two times from end to end for some exercise. Half-way through, I realized that the look on the face of those I studied matched their stride. Were they late? Were they bored? Were they lost? What ever emotion on the face, the stride matched it. Of course, height has a whole lot to do with the length of the stride, but that doesn’t dictate the intensity, or the speed, or the angle.

Did I draw any dramatic and startling conclusions? Heck no. Did it pass the time? So much so, I actually almost missed my flight. That would have been a hard one to explain. And so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

