The Shape of Pain

Pain comes in all sizes and shapes. It comes when we know it is coming and sometimes unexpectedly, sometimes it hits you fast and other times creeps in slowly. It sneaks up on you sometimes, and sometimes it hits you like an out-of-control freight train. The pain of leaving my young grandsons behind is a pretty small one in the scope of life and what I’ve already been through. I’ve experienced leaving them many times before, so you would think it wouldn’t be a big deal at all, but it is. It isn’t anything like the loss of my sister, my dad, or Dean. I know. It isn’t insignificant, however, it is real. I don’t like it.

I wrote about the heavy heat of Florida, and now I’m on my way back to rain, snow, and cold weather in Colorado – at the end of May. Not exactly normal, but as my mom says, we have to take what we get. Sleeping in my own bed is nice. That much I like. Hugging my granddaughter after being gone for two weeks is awesome. Life is always give and take, isn’t it?

So, I’m on to my next adventure. I bought a sleeping bag and I’m wondering if I shouldn’t purchase one of those nice blow-up mats to go under it for my camping trips this summer. There are many types available, so feedback from you guys would be appreciated.

Every time I think I’ve bought the last big thing I need to purchase, along comes another ‘something’ that I think would be good to have. One of these mats definitely lands in the “I want” rather than the “I need” category. However, at my age, sleeping on the ground has definitely lost some of its appeal. Pain in places you used not to notice is one of the offsets to the wisdom we gain as we age. It is what it is, however, and so it goes….

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

