Magnolias In Our Lives

I was sitting in the car waiting while my daughter ran an errand. Gazing at a magnolia tree gave me pause to note the oxymorons found throughout our lives as well as nature. Amidst the beauty all around us, difficult circumstances can make us forget to look for the good.

A magnolia tree is a beautiful tree to behold. The lovely white flowers are long-lasting and show off beautifully against the glossy green and rusty leaves. If you are the lawn keeper, however, you might take a slightly different view. The leathery tough leaves and thorns tear up a lawn mower. The tree can be a headache in a yard – and yet I absolutely love to look at them.

It rained this evening and I have the window open as I write. The night sounds are different here than they are in Colorado. More frogs are croaking, and there is some sort of bird clacking outside of a kind for which I have no earthly idea, unless it’s a cricket, and in that case, yikes! I have no wish to meet any cricket that can make a sound that big.

I got my oldest grandson picked up from pre-kindergarten school. The process of id, password, and sign-in certainly isn’t what it used to be. I know the reasons why, and the necessity for such security now-a-days, and yet thinking about it makes me rather sad. I grew up in an era when we kids played outside without supervision until dark, drank from garden hoses, walked alone to school, swam in the canals, and rode bikes without helmets. How did we ever survive?

Day Three: The grandkids are still alive, (me too). I got the big one to school on time (always a plus), and the weather is cooler with a breeze, so the morning walk with the little guy was delightful. And so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

