Grandma Time!

So, just asking, but I don’t suppose sweating from the heat is as beneficial as sweating from working out? Nah, didn’t think so.
It was nearly too hot to walk at 8am this morning in Florida. I did it anyway, with my grandson in the stroller (it almost took more time to figure out how to open the stroller so I could put him in it than to do the walk!). All the while, sweat was rolling down my rocky mountain altitude acclimatized face. There is absolutely no sense in wearing make-up in Florida, but anti-perspirant? now there is a need for that! I never use it at home, but I have learned to bring it along when I come down here.
My youngest grandson’s language development reminds me of my middle child. She waited to talk until she had it all figured out, then started with whole sentences. This little guy understands everything but isn’t saying much, yet, except for ‘dada’ and calling the dog by name. It will be fun to see how he takes it on.
If you’ve never been in a nerf shoot out, you should try it some time. My seventeen month old grandson stacked the deck in his mother’s favor, but hey, that’s okay. We had a blast. When my daughter and I returned this evening my son-in-law and the two boys were playing the same game. It’s a hoot.
I will be on my own with these two little boys for the next several days, so there is no guarantee of a blog come next Sunday. Just thought you ought to be on notice. 🙂 I’m smiling as I write this because my son-in-law already has separation anxiety over leaving his boys. They sure do make a handsome threesome – that’s for sure. We’ll be fine. As my daughter put it, Grandma lets them do things their parents don’t, so it will all work out great for everyone in the end.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grandma Time!

  1. As a Floridian I can tell you that it’s gotten pretty hot to us as well. It came on so suddenly this year. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

