Let The Light In

I don’t know what to write so I’m solving that by not writing for the moment. I’m thinking. Give me a minute. Come on, be patient, don’t rush me. Wait, wait,…nope, nothing. I thought maybe I was going to have a thought, but it must have been a brain fart. Oops. Excuse me.

That is how this week is going, with a couple of exceptions. I found a great place to eat that makes great pie, cinnamon rolls, and cabbage pockets, and I got in a couple of good hikes with good friends.

We got my mother into Hospice. She is in the Transitional Program, which means she gets checked on but doesn’t get the daily care yet. You cannot begin to imagine what a relief that is for me. My sister, who cares for Mom but is not healthy herself, thinks I am going overboard and acting too soon. Now, let me think (despite how that is going this week), Mom is 95. Too soon? Nah, I don’t think so. Hospice is wonderful.

Two days before leaving to work on the house in the Black Forest, I discovered a small drip/leak in the basement here. It is from the sprinkler system drain valve. ‘Oh great’ is the nicest thing I can say at the moment. It will have to wait until I return. Nothing like having a spare bucket! Thank goodness I have good neighbors.

Did I mention I put in one of those solar light tubes in my stairwell? It used to be a dark hole all of the time without the light turned on. Boy what a difference. It took me three days before I quit automatically trying to turn the light off (my dad was a stickler for turning off lights) every time I walked by. Funny how things you learned as a kid stick with you forever. I cannot wait for the first full moon – just to see what kind of light that lets in.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

