A Big Hill

I vacuumed and washed windows in my mother’s house, small things to do but they made me feel useful. I wheeled Mom outside for her first time out since fall. She loved smelling the fresh air, and seeing the birds flit about. We checked out the iris and poppies about to bloom. Soon, I drive back over the hill to my own home. Writing that last sentence, I have to laugh. So many non-Colorado people might wonder about that expression I use, “over the hill.” I am referring to the Continental Divide in Colorado – a rather big hill.
I remember back when I was a little girl, I went with one on my uncles to deliver bait on his route in Minnesota. He said we were going up into the mountains. We went up a couple of little hills (possibly swells would be the more appropriate term) and I finally asked him how long before we got to the mountains. I couldn’t see anything anywhere close that resembled a mountain. He said we were in them.
Being a smart little ten year old, I corrected my uncle. Those were not mountains. Colorado has mountains and those rolling hills were not mountains. He simply drove and smiled and listened to my wisdom. I’ve gained some perspective since then – some.

I broke down and went shopping. I’m not a shopper, but I need some sandals for this summer. I didn’t find any sandals like I wanted, but I did find some other nice things. I found the perfect sleeping bag for this summer’s planned camping trips – on sale. I found a winter jacket that I like (having just put my old one in the donation pile – on sale. There were a couple of other things on sale too, but no sandals. Oh well. If I come up something else to go looking for, then maybe I’ll find some new sandals. That backwards method is how shopping works for me.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

