Love Isn’t Always Easy

I’m closing in on completing the new flower garden. The gravel is all moved, that was the biggest challenge, and now I have to take up the fabric, add humus, dig out the half-dead barberry bush, and plant the new fun stuff. The project turned out much bigger, and took much longer than I originally thought it would. I hope to finish before the next forecasted rain, but really, I know that’s not going to happen.

So I should write a funny blog on my recent experience of having a colonoscopy done. What we won’t do for our kids? The girls have been after me to get all of these routine medical tests done, and while I am not a ‘go to the doc’ kind of person, I know it is because they love me and want me to stick around, so I finally gave in. Well, in the case of a colonoscopy – and I realize how early detection saves lives – honestly, they have got to come up with an easier detection method.

I should thank my parents for healthy genes while I’m at it. I hope they carry right on through to my grandkids. While I’m on the subject of health, because of Dean’s diabetes, I have a far greater understanding of the disease. We see the obvious, a person not being able to eat sweetened foods, but we don’t see the underlying slow death of all the organs, including the eyes, brain function (dementia), and the heart which feeds every other organ and function in your body.

Think back through our food history. I know I’ve got my preacher voice going (sorry kids) but that’s because I care so much. Man never had sugar added to anything until the last one to two hundred years. Now, people gulp down fruit juice, soda, candy, cookies, cake, and power bars every single day. It is like pouring a gallon of gasoline on a tiny flame. Our pancreas was not intended to withstand it, and it doesn’t. It just quits working with that much sugar in the diet. The ‘so-what’ consequence of this diet is the slow, insidious death of all of the body’s organs, ALL of them. The proof is our nation’s skyrocketing rate of diabetes. Nothing you can ever do to protect your children will impact them more – in such a positive manner – than your saying no to sugar. Love isn’t always easy.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

