As Good As It Gets

I went for a lovely bike ride the other morning. There are a few trade-offs when you ride this time of year. The mosquitoes and gnats are not out yet, so riding along the Poudre River and its many ponds was completely pest free. There are no leaves on the trees, however, so it isn’t as pretty as it will be later when those pests are out. Because it is spring and there is nesting going on, the geese, ducks and song birds make an astounding amount of noise. Nature’s orchestra was in fine mettle.

Well, I did something I am known to do, and it won’t surprise anyone. I came home from the first of what will probably turn out to be many trips to the local nursery for plants. I also picked up peat moss for the new flower bed. If I have a plan and a list, I generally stay within the vicinity of a reasonable amount of money spent, generally. Last year in this new home, I tore out the junipers and pine trees. This year I want to put in some color. I do have a plan, at least.

I have cousins coming for a visit! Woohoo! That’s always means a good time telling old stories from when we were kids. None of my cousins on either side live close to me, so it is especially special when we get together. They will also visit my mom, which lifts her spirits too. She has sounded better since the warm weather descended, reporting to me nightly about the daffodils and crocus in bloom. I am glad for that renewing spirit. At 95, with most of her friends gone, it is difficult for her to find things to look forward to. A visit from family and spring flowers are as good as it gets!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

