March On!

I’m running out of topics that aren’t sunshine inspired. I am inspired by sunshine. I am not inspired by this never-ending winter syndrome, and I’m sure you’re tired of hearing about it too. So, here’s my plan. We’re going to find topics of interest that might only get done on a miserable, cold day.
Puzzles. I love jig-saw puzzles. Ok, that’s a start. The indoor swimming pool at the gym.
Facials, plastic surgery (I hear you need lots of time for recovery and shouldn’t be out in the sun), massages (ahhhhhhh), knitting (nope – cross that one off, it takes inspiration), writing (oh no no no – that definitely needs inspiration) maybe writing a hand written letter to your mother?
Well, the list needs work, but it’s a start.
The seedlings are started, but even they look spindly and pale for want of sunshine through the window. I know just how they feel. I’ve scheduled doctor’s appointments and dental cleanings to pass the time. That means I’m desperate because I don’t do doctor appointments. My daughter says I shouldn’t self diagnose, and I say I’m healthy and I will go when I need to. No one’s going to win that argument – but it does pass the time.
The days are getting longer – and that is helpful. Next weekend the time springs forward, and that always signals – something – usually it takes me three days to recover from losing that hour of sleep – but I’m sure it signals something. It won’t be long after that when we hit the vernal equinox. I find comfort knowing the days are getting longer, even if it is still cold and miserable outside.
The funny thing is (sometimes you have to stretch to find the humor), next summer I will be complaining about the heat, and the mosquitoes, and the humidity. Remind me, please, of jig-saw puzzles, facials, body massages, and the pool at the gym. March On!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

