Good Feelings

More shoveling, more writing, more dreaming about gardening. I detect a pattern here.

I tried to kill my printer today. Not intentionally. I just tried to add paper at the exact moment is was taking in another sheet and it grabbed the entire quarter inch stack and squealed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! until I got it turned off. I had to tear apart one sheet on the inside, but managed to get the rest out. It reluctantly agreed to print when I turned it back on, but not without one final squawk. I certainly hope there is no lasting damage, and I won’t try that trick again.

Writing is going good, really good. I think it is true that going through grief makes a person a better writer, and for me, I also needed time to sweep the cob-webs out before I saw the stronger voice. I’ve been at this a long time, but the difference now is palpable, and exciting!

This week I am volunteering with middle-schoolers, a whole species unto themselves. I actually love the age, and I certainly admire those teachers who work with that energy level day after day, year after year. It might kill me. Teachers certainly don’t get paid enough.

I feel very empowered at the moment. I fixed the snow-blower all by myself. After our eight inches of snow, I picked up a large rock going down the sidewalk. The sheer bolt sheered off (by design) and only one auger on one side worked after that. I got out the instructions, knocked out the old bolt and put in the new one. There are two patios where I can’t use the snow-blower, so I still get plenty of exercise hand shoveling, but I’ve got to say, running that thing is a lot of fun. I now understand why my husband used to love repairing things himself, even when he had employees that could have done it. Fixing something like that gives you a great feeling.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

