I did things in backwards order the other morning, and doing so makes for a mind numbing dumb day. Usually, I get up, shower, drink coffee, and write. The previous day had been extra busy, so I missed my afternoon gym workout. The following morning, to make up for it, I went to the gym first thing. The plan was to come home, shower, drink coffee, write, get up on the roof for a small job, and go bicycling in the lovely warm weather we’ve been having.
Everything was backwards. I couldn’t think about work while on the machines, so I made no progress on a couple of issues that need attention. I could only think, “shower – coffee – shower – coffee.”
When I got home, I was so hungry, I made a protein shake, but still craved coffee. It was difficult to drink both at once. My mind left the building, and I still hadn’t showered. Maybe that’s the key. Evidently, I needed to lie down on the bed, get up, shower, drink some coffee and start over.
I did get up on the roof, and then got on my bike for a couple of delightful hours. Good thing I have been going to the gym. I can tell it made a difference. We’ve gotten spoiled by this delightful weather, and I will get grumpy when the white stuff comes back. Seeings how I live in Colorado where the snowiest months of the year are yet to come, expect some grumpy!
When I see all the snow back east, see people trying to dig out from under it, I truly appreciate where I’m at for the moment. Hopefully, I can remember that in the summer when I envy their greenness, and the beautiful flowers back there that don’t grow out here in the arid west. The warmth made short work of our last batch of snow. Even on the north side of the house, it is bare once again. There’s always a trade off, isn’t there?

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

