Problem Solver

I wish all of the world’s problems were as easy to solve, as the one I was able to help my grandson with on my last visit. Somehow, the subject came up about his mommy and daddy, and how they got married. Oh, my grandson is five, by the way. I could see his shoulders slump under the delima he couldn’t figure out the answer to. He finally asked me, “How will I know who I’m supposed to marry?”
I told him how far off that was, and when he was old enough, he would know how to find the right person, and mostly it took patience, but getting married is so many years away for him that he didn’t have to worry about it now, etc. etc. etc. I could see all of those thoughts made no progress at all in alleviating the worry from his shoulders. Then all the sudden, the little guy had a brainstorm. “Grandma, will you marry me?”
I looked into that darling face, and you have to know what I said next.
“Of course, I’ll marry you.”
Relief flooded in, the weight lifted off, and we were back to playing legos, crisis averted.
Like I said, I wish all the world’s problems were as easy to solve.
Most of the world’s problems are caused by human behavior, and there is no cure for that. We can be taught to behave nicely, to respect others even when they differ, but many people find it too burdensome to put out that kind of effort as parents. They want it to be someone else’s job. A society that is governed by laws leans in the right direction, but constantly has to monitor itself. Human nature rears its head in the form of greed, anger, jealously, and the list goes on and on. So, we have police, jails, more laws, we pay higher taxes, and we go to war.
Are we getting better? I don’t know. We have several thousand years of trying to get it right, but history keeps repeating itself. Some things are better, but bad behavior just keeps on a coming.
I like hope, though. I like looking for the brighter side. I like looking into my grand child’s face and seeing the possibility that we will get it right in the end.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

