Move, Laugh, Love

Over the hills and through the tunnels, to Mother’s house I go, again, and again, and again. I have driven I-70 from one side of Colorado to the other so many times, I think I could do it in my sleep – which is actually a concern – I don’t want to fall asleep while I’m driving. The only time I really love the drive is in autumn, when the aspen trees shimmer gold among the green spruce and pine trees. Then I can’t get enough of the mountains.
Is it still only January? I already have cabin fever (in my case – gardening fever). I am trying to figure out what kind of new tree to put in, or if I want one at all, and what types of wildflowers to plant. I have shoveled enough snow for one season (in my mind), and I’m tired of clumping around in snow boots. Gripe. Gripe. Gripe. Sorry.
Friends are encouraging me to get a dog. Seems to me, we’ve had this discussion before. I suppose I’m inching closer to actually going down the road of dog ownership again, if for no other reason than companionship. My granddaughter would certainly love it if I did. I’ll think some more on that one.
My mother turns 95 in a few days. She has been so fortunate to still have a sound mind and reasonable health. She lives in her own home, along with my sister, answers her own phone, and still beats me at cards. I can tell she is tired though. Her husband is gone, and her friends are mostly gone. She is the oldest of seven, but her sister and brothers are all gone. She is not too happy to be the only one left. At her age, there are no goals left to accomplish, nor is she a social person, so she doesn’t have any weekly social commitments to keep her looking forward.
I guess my reason for writing this, is to encourage everyone to keep active and stay social. Depression can come on at any age, and it robs people of their ability to be healthy and happy. Don’t let it get you. Move. Laugh. Love. Maybe get a dog. 🙂

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

