Winter Solstice

What I love about the winter solstice is the fact that going forward the days are getting longer! Yay! Celebrate! You have to look for the positive, right? No matter what happens, there will be a silver lining, somehow, somewhere.
I am amazed, really, how much putting up Christmas decorations has helped turn this new home into a comfort zone for me. I guess it is the decades long familiarity with the ornaments, the stockings, even some of the candles (I never burn them). Whatever it is, it has helped, and that is a good thing.
I gave a tour of my house to a friend the other evening. When we got to the spare bedroom, which is a ‘wrapping zone’ right now, it reminded him of his mom. She wrapped a present for his dad in their spare bedroom, and it somehow got pushed under the bed and forgotten. They didn’t find it until a decade later when they moved to Colorado. That, in turn, reminded me of the year I put Dean’s present from my mom in the hall closet, and didn’t remember to get it out until later on Christmas morning when Mom asked me how he liked his shirts. Oops.
I also got into the bad habit of leaving the peas in the microwave on Thanksgiving. I eventually learned to look at the table when we all sat down, and make sure all the colors were there, green for peas, red for cranberry salad, brown for turkey and gravy, white for potatoes, etc. etc. I guess a parent has to give their child something to razz them about later on in life. Why they can’t forget the ‘peas in the microwave problem’ is beyond me. I forget everything, well except what my sister did to me when I was eight.
So, now I wish you a Merry Christmas, and if that is not a holiday you celebrate, I wish for you a Happy Winter Solstice. Love Barbara

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

