The Last Minute Christmas Rush

No, I’m not out in the stores, I am madly trying to finish knitting my third afghan for the year. It is scheduled to go under the tree on Christmas morning. The world will not end if it isn’t finished on time, but it will be sorely disappointing to my five year old granddaughter, and so, click, click, click go the needles until I have to take a break because my hands have fallen asleep. The fire is lit, and the Christmas tree lights are on. A person can’t ask for a nicer work environment.
Yesterday was quite the day. I moved furniture, knitted, painted a small wall, shopped, wrapped presents, went to the post office, baked cookies, knitted of course, drove around to look at lights after dark, did year-end office work, and then couldn’t sleep so I was still knitting at 11pm. For all who know me well, being up past nine is a pretty rare occurrence. I think I was on some kind of pre-Christmas adrenalin rush. I bet I don’t get as much done today.
Re-writes of my second novel are on hiatus until the afghan is done, but it is going extremely well, and very exciting, if I do say so myself. I feel like I’ve turned another corner, climbed another rung, gotten better, however you want to say it. I love writing!
I went downtown tonight and had an absolutely magical experience. A forest of white lights lit the scene; holiday music accompanied me as I walked past shops decorated in their finest splendor; children lined up to sit on Santa’s lap for a few precious moments; people strolled or shopped, unhurried in the crisp December air. The magic made me remember how truly blessed I am. Happy Holidays everyone.
And now, back to knitting.IMG_1457

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

