Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!
The Christmas letter is written. Now to address all the envelopes and write the individual notes. What a process, and yet, what a simple thing to do to stay connected to the people who really matter in my life. I love to receive them myself, and if you want to get them, you have to send them.
I came home with paint yesterday. It’s a start. I have company coming so I am going to have to work fast today. I still haven’t figured out the right color/colors for the bathroom, so that one is on hold till after the holidays. I’m starting in the living room. Nancy and Joy are laughing right now. They know this is the real me, painting away.
Later – I ran out of daylight, so I switched from painting to writing and addressing envelopes. The painting went well. The color is good. I also rendered a pumpkin to make pies tomorrows, got a haircut, and got some more yarn to finish an afghan I’m making for a Christmas present. Busy day and that is always a good day for me.
My neighbor came and borrowed a stick of butter. There is hope for the world. If we are still connected enough to cook and borrow and share, we will be okay.
I hate the violent actions that have come as a result of the shooting in Ferguson, Missouri. I do not condone any of it. I do, however, understand the feelings underneath that have flamed the deplorable actions. That does not excuse lawlessness. But, just for a moment, give me an honest answer to this question. What did the English think of the American revolutionaries who dumped the tea in Boston Harbor? They thought it was inexcusable lawlessness, and had to be stopped. The American’s feelings were flamed by lack of representation, and unfairness, enough so that eventually we had a revolution.
Our forefathers insisted this new country have a system for change, and for that, we are very, very lucky. For those who think our country is going down the drain, I believe we are experiencing the pain of growth and change. It’s never easy, but I still believe we have a reason to give Thanks.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

