How much time?

My granddaughter said I did my best work ever on dinner tonight. That’s a pretty nice compliment. We made spaghetti, using Italian sausage and quinoa pasta. I have to admit, it was pretty tasty, and the praise was as awesome as dessert.

I’m looking for some help from all of you. I need a name for a tree in my fantasy book. It will be the name of a wise, old tree, something very old fashioned and recognizable. I’d love to hear any suggestions you have!

The holidays are almost upon us. That means lots of good eating coming up. Comfort foods. They aren’t necessarily good for you, but they bring back good memories, and that’s what you have in the end, when you can no longer do, you can remember what you did.

I have come a long way toward finding a comfort zone here in my new home. I’m not all the way to comfortable yet, but it is far better now than in the beginning. I often think of driving up the road to my old house – and frankly that still seems like going home. I haven’t sold the old one; I rented it out. I wonder now, if I shouldn’t sell my former home this coming spring. I kept it as a back-up in case I didn’t like it up here, but now I’m thinking having a fall-back keeps me from fully moving in here (in my mind). I don’t know. Thoughts from you guys would be appreciated. The emotional tie has me wound around.

When I boil it down, it sounds clear cut. I chose proximity to family over a beautiful house in a beautiful setting. My new house is very nice, I simply don’t love it yet. If I’m honest though, I didn’t love the old one at first either. The setting, yes, but not the house. I did a lot of work, and spent a lot of money remodeling it before it was really a beautiful home. Time did a lot of that work also, and I know I haven’t given this new home that much time.

Time. The older I get, the more difficult it is to get my head and my heart in the same location. How much time will it take this time?

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

