Over the Hill

Over the hill and through the woods…

I moved to the ‘other side’ when I was eighteen, so I’ve been doing this a long time. Crossing the continental divide can be a delightful journey, or an arduous task. This trip was the latter. Despite the lateness in the season, construction is in full swing all across the mountains of Colorado. In Eagle, workers were tearing up the concrete medians in newly installed roundabouts. There goes a whole bunch of tax-payer’s dollars down the drain. I don’t know what aspect didn’t meet the inspection, or if there was a failure of some kind, but I have to imagine something, somehow, was pretty messed up for them to tear out all that new concrete. What a nightmare.
In addition to the construction, snow was flying on top of both passes (sometime after I went through, they closed the pass), rain pelted down on the western slope, and the wind howled from one side of the state to the other.
This was my last chance to see my mom before January. I’ll be back then to celebrate her 95th birthday. This trip we are having our Thanksgiving and Christmas wrapped into three big meals, pumpkin pie and all. We long ago gave up presents (when you’re 95 there isn’t any point – you’ve already got everything you ever wanted or needed) so it’s more about me helping out with fall projects my mom wants done. So far, I’ve washed windows, filled a large hole in the lawn (used to be a tree there), and swept leaves off the patio.
We got into a discussion of where all the girls in my brownie troop lived. It progressed from there to old buildings around town, good and bad teachers, and the horrible junior high school that was condemned shortly after I went on to high school. During much of this discourse, I sat with tongue in cheek, reminding myself to stay quiet and not offer any reality checks.

The food was good – especially the pie.

– to grandmother’s house we go…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

