Three in the Morning

Well, another election is over. Thank goodness. My mailbox will no longer be full of tasteless pieces of garbage. I can leave the mute button alone during commercials. I was going to say that I can finally sleep in, but here I am at 2:30 in the morning, writing a blog because I woke up and can’t go back to sleep. Yesterday was a fifteen hour work day. You’d think I couldn’t stay awake, but no such luck.
There is nothing to be excited about in the elections. Candidates of both parties are bought and paid for by big corporate contributions. People get tired of the old and vote in a new party, but until we get campaign reform, it won’t make a difference. Sorry. It just isn’t going to matter. Washington will still suck when we get up tomorrow. I voted, so I get to complain.
I did meet a lot of wonderful people by working the election. It was a great experience and I have a new-found respect for the process and what has been put in place to ensure a fair election. It is a mammoth undertaking.
What is a person supposed to eat at three in the morning? I want to nibble on something but I’m actually not hungry. I finally decided on a tablespoon of peanut butter and that seemed to do the trick.
A new day.
The politicos are talking on tv this morning, so watching the news wasn’t an option to start my day. Then I remembered the knitting I haven’t been able to work on for the last three weeks, so I got it out and sipped my morning coffee between rows. I am speaking at a book club this evening, so there is that to prepare for. I guess I will actually have to start moving. Nothing like a hot shower to help the process along. Maybe I will move some furniture around. It doesn’t seem like my violets are happy where I put them, so maybe I’ll change things up for them, get them blooming again. The Christmas cactus is preparing to burst out, so I’ll have to be sure and leave it where it is. At least here, in my house, I do make a difference.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

