Sweeping in the Wind

Many topics have come up for discussion during work this week and last. One was rudeness. Some people are just rude. You have to let their attitude go in one ear and out the other. Sometimes, that’s easy, sometimes not so easy. All you can do is try to not let it get under your skin, otherwise you end up sinking to their level.
I am loving my temporary job, but I’m glad it’s temporary in the fact that I do not have the time or energy to also work on my novels, blog, and handle the household chores after a nine hour day. I knew it would be this way, so I was mentally prepared to let the novels go for this two and a half weeks, but that still doesn’t make me feel very good about it. I like writing.
I did get the fake spiders added to the fake cobwebs I put up on the porch. I can’t help myself from adding things to the Halloween decorations. I also sprayed the house for the real kind. Those I particularly don’t like to have hanging around.
The wind blew so hard on Monday, leaves raced by at nearly astronomical speeds. A shop worker in a store next to where I am working tried to sweep the leaves away from their front door. The harder he swept, the more they twirled up until he was engulfed in a virtual tornado of yellow and orange. It would have made a great u-tube video. We sympathized up to a point. I mean really, it was such useless effort, it was hard not to laugh at the poor fellow. Much to my relief, he eventually gave up. I suppose even Mother Nature has to have a laugh once in a while.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

