The Cycle

The good smells coming from the kitchen are just killing me. My daughter-in-law is cooking and I cannot wait to partake. After a busy day touring the country yesterday, she and I have stuck close to home today. Nice. Nice. Nice. Unfortunately, the good visit, and the fun times (which included a little ping-pong) are coming to an end. The kids must return to their home and jobs, and I too, need to get back at it.
And so it goes. The cycle continues, the earth revolves, we get older, and history is repeated, over and over, and over again.
One of the perks of having company is the opportunity for me to try out chapters of my books. The feedback is invaluable. Fresh eyes don’t see what I expect is there, they see what is there. The kids are also great at making organizational suggestions in my new kitchen. Being my kids, they don’t hold back and keep quiet as other guests might be prone to do. However, I cannot complain. The changes are good!
So, how long is your fall list? Mine grew exponentially in the last week. How did that happen? One ornamental tree got overly anxious and shed half of its leaves already. I am not okay with that! I will concede it might be time to bring in the umbrella and the critters from the secret garden, and I suppose that means soon I will be draining hoses and taking down the rain gauge.
I think autumn is the most beautiful time of year, and at the same time, the saddest. Each red leaf reminds me that the warmth and fun of summer, and another year of our lives, is slipping away. It is an odd, melancholy feeling. This month also marks three years since Dean passed away. I so hate that he isn’t here to see what totally cool people his kids and grandkids have turned into.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

