Incentives

Ahhh – going to the dentist. What a necessary evil – and we have to pay to do it. Sometimes I wonder how that system got so backwards. After the check-up and cleaning, it took me two hours to hang a heavy painting over the mantle by myself, hoping all the while I didn’t drop it and break the glass. This particular picture is the only one that got shattered during my recent move.
I’m making all of these little last minute adjustments because I have company coming. The visit itself will be over in the blink of an eye – it’s always that way when the kids come – but the buildup, cleaning, and moving things around until I’m satisfied takes weeks. Good thing I do get company, or else I might never clean! My mom says wait and clean after they go. Well that wouldn’t work for me. Why would I bother cleaning after they leave? No incentive. I’m definitely an incentive-based house cleaner.
I experienced another computer crash. Fortunately, this old laptop has already been replaced, and even more fortunate, my son-in-law was again able to rescue all needed documents off of it – just in case something wasn’t backed up properly. That last one is a real possibility with me. I know there was eight pages of writing that I didn’t want to lose. My fault. I should back-up the novels every time I write, but I get lazy when it comes to technology.
The cold rainy weather has put my outdoor project off till next week. I am knocking down a stone wall that used to surround a hot tub but now only serves to block off my view of half the yard. I was bundled up and ready to go, but the stone mason called and said the day was only good for ducks, not masons, so that was that. I guess I’m not the only one who is incentive based.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

