Wildlife Trick or Treat

Ahhh football rivalries! I’m not a fanatic – but I do enjoy watching friends who are. Tis the season. I love the food that goes with games though: beer, brats, chips and dip, beer, and of course, more beer.
This holiday weekend is a biggie in Colorado. The Taste of Colorado is going on in Denver. Fort Collins has a big beer celebration going on. The annual Rocky Mountain showdown is happening as I write. There are many other events too. In other words, there is plenty of opportunity for celebration.
I plan a long bike ride, some shopping, mowing the lawn, and trying to remember where I stashed some extra picture frames. I saw them just the other day – but today I cannot for the life of me remember where. I finished digging in the flagstone steps in the backyard walkway, so that is finally off my summer list.
All of you who remember some of my gardening frustration blogs from the past will know where my frustration is coming from. Rabbits snuck around and ate my granddaughter’s spinach out of the new garden bed. Not fair! I will have to rabbit and squirrel proof the gardens up here too. The only thing I haven’t seen munching in the yard here are the deer, moose, and bobcats I had in the Black Forest.
The cool air we experienced this past week is a reminder that fall is just around the corner. The temp is going back up for the next week, but it won’t be long. There is already evidence of leaves turning color in the neighborhood, and my mail box is filling up with catalogs full of Halloween decorations. How fun! I don’t have the wildlife here, but I do now live in a neighborhood with children for Trick-or-Treating. Decorating my court-yard is going to be a blast. I haven’t decided yet – scary or not?

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

