Selfies and S’mores

Book Three is progressing nicely. I have begun the process of mapping a new world, which is not as easy as one might think. It is a fun challenge, however, and I really like picking out names for mountains, rivers and lakes. Towns? Not so much.
I am still awaiting the return of Book Two from the editor. Patience is a virtue, I am told. Funny though, it is easier to wait at my age now, than when I was younger. I guess the more practice you get, the better you become.
I went antiquing yesterday. I don’t know why that is significant, but I had a lot of fun doing it. I also learned how to service my bicycle myself and got the seat un-tilted so it doesn’t launch me forward. The handle bars are now straight and my neighbor mentioned I might need to go get my body adjusted so I could ride non-crooked. Everyone is a comedian.
I love the soothing sound of doves in the morning. Their voices float back and forth, reminding me of my childhood, especially when we kids would “camp” out in the yard. There weren’t many doves in the Black Forest, but here they are audibly present.
The second of three Super Moons is tonight. The challenge is to take a ‘selfie’ with the moon. The final one is September 9th. Take your children outside tonight and give them a chance to see something really cool, in person, without spending a dime. Mother Nature is handing us this phenomena free of charge so take advantage. Who doesn’t like a full moon and when it appears 14% bigger and 30% brighter – you can’t beat it. I’m not sure how the ‘selfie’ pics will turn out – but I’m betting no one will try to ‘photo-bomb’ you.
Oh – and finally – it’s National S’mores Day. I know a couple of girls who will love celebrating that!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

