Dull?

Yesterday, I played a game of shuffle beds, no not shuffle board, shuffle beds. It’s kind of a long story; here goes. See if you can follow along. I’m kidding!
While moving in last spring, the movers discovered they could not get the normal depth queen size box springs downstairs (there is a sharp corner at the bottom), so we opted to put the low-profile box springs down there. That one actually goes with the sleigh bed I wanted upstairs.
A friend’s daughter’s apartment complex burned down recently. She lost everything so I donated a bed to her, because, I had been given another bed by my children and was storing it. (The kind that blows up so is easy to move and won’t be a problem getting up and down the stairs.)
So, I am actually giving away the bed that goes with the normal size box springs, but that box springs was upstairs, so I had to take that bed apart and get out the normal springs and put in the low-profile one from downstairs (which, though low-profile, was not easy to get upstairs), as well as take apart the bed downstairs to give away.
Now the people actually have to show up to take them, or else I will have a permanent art fixture of mattress and box springs in my living room (the only place big enough to temporarily hold them). Then I have to assemble the blow-up type bed in the basement. Oh, and the foam bed-topper I ordered for my bed came, so I had to take apart a third bed and put that on too.
Today we are going to attempt to move a couch into the basement so people have a place to sit and watch the ping-pong matches – or television I suppose, although that is not nearly as hilarious. I have taken to requiring everyone to switch hands and play with their non-dominate hand for a while. Never a dull moment in my basement.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

