Just a Little Better

For the past three years, I put together a team for the “Walk to End Alzheimer’s” walk in Colorado Springs. Since I moved, I had planned to do the same here in Fort Collins, however, it turns out I will be traveling during the walk weekend this year. I just wanted to mention it because the Alzheimer’s Association is fighting hard to find a cure for a devastating, ugly disease and they need all of the help they can get. Please don’t forget them when you do your tax planning and charitable giving this year.
I watched the news tonight for the first time in eight days. Same disasters, fires, sinkholes, floods – just slightly different locations. Same wars – just new victims. I think I’ll stick to ping-pong and knitting.
The house is quiet but I have a long list of projects to do that will keep me busy into the fall. My teacher kids are busy preparing for the onslaught of children that will soon pass through the school doors. Education is such a precious part of our being, and yet, when we are going through it, we think it is a trial and can’t wait for it to be over. How many of us that are older now, would give anything to go back and do it again – knowing what we know now?
I’m so proud of both my son-in-law, who will receive his Bachelor’s degree this winter – all done while working full time and parenting my two grandsons. That’s not easy. And of my daughter-in-law, who will finish her Master’s next month. Bravo to you both!
Every time a child learns something, attempts a new skill, or asks his teacher a question, the world gets a little better, just a little better.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

