Priorities

Three sets of sheets and towels in three loads of laundry, and the house is almost back to normal. It has been incredibly fun for me to watch the cousins play together, hours and hours on end, working out the differences of what to watch, which game to play. We have known forever that play-time is where we learn to succeed in life, the practice that makes us capable adults – or not.
When I watch the headlines from around the world, it is obvious that many people did not practice social skills when they played as children. If your country has always been at war, then war-games is probably the only way you will ever live your life. I cannot imagine being a mother (or a grandmother) under such circumstances. The futility of trying to live each day must be overwhelming. I wish there was an answer.
I have figured out how to re-organize my garage to accommodate upcoming plans. Now to do it. And – my son-in-law cut and screwed together my tomato beds for next year, so I need to get at removing the gravel and leveling the area before adding soil. Seems like I never lack projects to do, but I guess that is what keeps me going. First though, I have another week of enjoying my grandsons (and their parents) before they head back to Florida. Priorities!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

