Summer

Yesterday, I spent a bit of money at the nursery on plants for my yard. At the time, it didn’t feel like I was buying too many plants, but my shoulders might argue the point right about now. For thirty years, I gardened in sand, and then eight years in a forest with scrabbly limestone and granite underneath. Now, I get a whole new configuration. Six inches of gravel, a layer of fabric, and then ooey, gooey, stick to your shoes, your shovel, and your face, clay. What a treat!
In all three cases, the solution is to amend with compost, organic matter, and muscle power. This time, however, I am also contending with the roots of the junipers we took out a few weeks back. They are everywhere and add their own four-letter-word dimension of challenge to my planting.
I do love these long days of summer. I love hearing the kids playing on the block. Basketballs are thumping and often I hear shouts of triumph. I remember long evenings of hide-n-seek in my childhood. All the neighboring kids played until pitch black or our parents yelled for us, whichever came first. And, just like when I was a kid, I am back to going barefoot. We couldn’t do that in eastern Colorado because of the sand burrs and goat heads. In the forest, there were pine needles and wild roses everywhere. Here I have grass and sidewalks. Ahhh summer…
We’ve come to a good stopping place on the remodeling and I’m going to take a break from the mess until fall. I think I should live with the house and the changes for a while and give myself time to explore choices for new flooring. I have company coming next month and definitely don’t want anything torn up then. That company includes two little boys that I can’t wait to wrap my arms around! Do you suppose I can convince their mom to let them stay until school starts in the fall? Nah, I suppose not.

Good news! My wonderful son-in-law figured out (in two minutes – mind you) what I did to flummox my web-site – so  barbaraktyner.com is once again good to go. Woohoo!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

