Digital Decompression

This will be the last post for ten days or so. I am going to do the “Unplug” thing, you know, a vacation without electronics, now known as digital decompression. My goal is total relaxation, perspective, gratefulness for all of my blessings, and appreciation for the wonderful family, friends, and support I’ve had throughout my life. I imagine introspection, thinking, reading, and prayer will be my main forms of entertainment, along with walking on the beach and anywhere else my vacation mates want to go.
Sometimes, in life, we are lucky enough to get a sign that what we did was the right thing to do. On and beyond the normal things like discovering great neighbors, great friends, great places to eat, and liking my house, I was blessed with a true sign – in my opinion.
When we were house hunting and came to look at this house that I bought, the four of us noticed the four rose bushes out front and wondered what color they would be. We decided to make a contest of it and each choose a color. The winner would get some prize which I have forgotten – or maybe it was just the glory of being right. At any rate – the four colors we chose were the most obvious, yellow, pink, red, and white. Well, guess what color my rose bushes are. Three out of the four have bloomed and so far we have yellow, pink, and red. Pretty great in my opinion.
I had forgotten how much I enjoy gardening and rose bushes. The last eight years of living in the forest, with the forest creatures, at 7200’ and a very short growing season, left little wiggle room for variety. I’m not complaining. I loved it and I miss it, but I love this too. Every place has a beauty of its own. The trick is to find it, appreciate it, and do your best with it.
So – I am off to Hawaii. I can’t imagine I’ll have any problems finding the beauty there. See you on the flip side.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

